SITE-BASED COUNCIL

Each school has a site-based team made up of elected representatives whose overall goal is to improve student achievement. School councils are responsible for planing and making decisions on issues such as staffing, scheduling, school climate and school budget allocations. Each elementary school council and the middle school council consist of three parents, the principal, three faculty members and one civil service employee or teaching assistant. The high school council includes an additional community/parent member, two additional faculty members and two students. Each stakeholder group elects their own members.

The PTA is responsible for parent elections. A plan governing the school councils was developed by a committee of representatives from the school district and community in 1993 in accordance with the New York State A New Compact for Learning. The first work of the planning committee was the development of a vision statement that captured the aspirations of the educational community and set the course for the future direction of the Pelham Public Schools.

The current members are:

Joanna Bonaccorso, teacher,  jbonaccorso@pelhamschools.org
 
Lisa Cornacchia, guidance counselor, lcornacchia@pelhamschools.org
 
Nora Debartolo, CSEA rep, ndebartolo@pelhamschools.org
 
Wendy DeVito, teacher, wdevito@pelhamschools.org
 
Michael Leak, parent, mdcbaj25@hotmail.com
 
Eileen Miller, parent, eileenmiller180@gmail.com
 
Judy Shampanier, parent, jshampan@gmail.com
 
Kathryn Pettus, teacher, kpettus@pelhamschools.org
 
Robert Roelle, principal, rroelle@pelhamschools.org
 
Lynn Sabia, assistant principal, lsabia@pelhamschools.org